REDUCED PRICE - Concerto Burlesco - Bassoon & Orchestra

RRP £40.00 (SAVE 25%)
In Stock In Stock
High Street: In Stock
Mail Order: In Stock


Solo Bassoon Flute (doubling piccolo), Oboe, Clarinet in Bb, Horn in F, Timpani (doubling susp.cymbal), Percussion (one player: Susp.cymbal, Snare drum, Tambourine, Tam-tam, 3 Wood blocks, Triangle, Whip, Vibraslap, Glockenspiel, Vibraphone), Celeste, Harp Strings (Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, cello, Bass).
This concerto was written for, and is dedicated to, Graham Salvage, the principal bassoonist of the Halle Orchestra. The first performance was given by Graham on March 4th 2005 in a concert in Turkey with the Izmir State Symphony Orchestra conducted by Marek Pijarowski. The concerto is in three movements: 1. Burlesque; 2. Serenade; 3. Fandango. The concerto takes its name from the first movement, which the composer feels is more a burlesque of first movement sonata form than the real thing. The middle movement gives the soloist an opportunity to serenade the audience in the most romantic manner, using the poetic and soulful upper register of the bassoon,and the finale is a fandango, an energetic dance from the Basque region of France and Spain. The concerto finishes with a rapid chromatic scale from the bottom to the top of the bassoon, ending on a trill on a high D. A bassoon and piano reductionof this concerto is available (Catalogue no.GM031).
Duration: c.20 minutes.A PACK comprises one full score, string parts 4/4/3/4/2 and any wind, brass and percussion parts.

Customer Reviews

There are currently no reviews for this product.

Be the first the write a review.

Please Log in or Register to write a review