Brahms: Sonata for Violin and Piano D minor op. 108 (Barenreiter)

In Stock In Stock
High Street: In Stock
Mail Order: In Stock


Brahms composed his "Violin Sonata in D minor" during the summer of 1886. The work quickly became part of the standard repertoire and has remained so until today. It is presented here in a fine Bärenreiter Urtext edition and comes with an unmarked Urtext part as well as a second part marked with fingering and bowing by Clive Brown which are based on the practices of Brahms' contemporaries.

An important part of this editions is the extensive preface. Firstly it informs about the works' origins, its compositional process, pre-publication performances, its publication history as well as early reception. Truly remarkable is the unique Performance Practice Commentary. Here the editors take the premise that already a few decades after Brahms' death a widening gulf developed between the composer's expectations and the performance practices of the early 20th century. In a very concrete and practical way, the editors summarize some of the key issues in understanding Brahms' notation with regard to rhythm and timing, dynamics and accentuation, dots and strokes, slurring and non legato, piano pedalling and overholding, piano arpeggiation and dislocation, string instrument fingering, string instrument harmonics and vibrato. In this way, the edition offers an exciting and often surprising insight in Romantic musical interpretation.

- A pioneering Urtext edition
- With an unmarked Urtext part
- With a second part including fingering and bowing based on the practices of Joseph Joachim and other contemporaries of Brahms
- With an extensive Performance Practice Commentary
- For further information on Romantic performance practice we recommend: "Performance Practices in Johannes Brahms' Chamber Music", text booklet, BA 9600 

Edition no.: BA 9433
ISMN: 9790006544332
Composer / Author: Brahms, Johannes
Title: Sonata for Violin and Piano D minor op. 108
Detailed instrumentation: Violin, Piano
Editor: Brown, Clive / Costa, Neal Peres Da
Foreword / Introduction: Brown, Clive
Product format: Performance score(s), Part(s), Urtext edition
Includes the following individual parts: Violin, Piano
Comments on the edition: With an Urtext solo part and a solo part with bowing and fingering by Clive Brown; Fingering in the piano part by Neal Peres Da Costa; Performance Practice Commentary by Clive Brown and Neal Peres Da Costa
Language(s) of text: English, German
Level of difficulty (D): 3
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Binding: Stapled
Print run: 1st printing 2015
Pages / Format: XLV, 36/10/10 S. - 31,0 x 24,0 cm
Weight: 425 g

Video Showcase

Customer Reviews

There are currently no reviews for this product.

Be the first the write a review.

Please Log in or Register to write a review